The Mayor

Contact me at

The Mayor of Haslemere, Councillor

Haslemere North

Finance & Governance and Grants

Councillor Oliver Leach was elected as Haslemere’s Town Mayor in May 2024 and will hold the position until May 2025. The Mayoress is his wife Mrs Claire Leach.


The Mayor is Haslemere’s first citizen and chairs the Full Council meetings and represents the town at civic and ceremonial functions. He acts as an ambassador for Haslemere, promoting and upholding the character of the town, and supporting community groups and projects.


The Mayor’s Charities ​

Every year the Mayor chooses a charity for which he/she wishes to raise funds during the mayoral year. This year’s charities chosen by Councillor Oliver Leach are:


KSS Air Ambulance Surrey

Air Ambulance Charity Kent Surrey Sussex (KSS), where we save lives when every second counts.

KSS Air Ambulance are a team of skilled, sector-leading experts responding to over 3,300 incidents annually across Kent, Surrey, and Sussex and can reach any location within 30 minutes.

The helicopters are flying emergency rooms. Whether it’s on the road, beach, or park. And get there, fast. bringing specialised doctors, paramedics and treatment to those who need it most, from open heart surgery to emergency anaesthesia. 24/7, 365 days a year.


St Bartholomews Link Community Hub Project

The Hub will provide a wonderful new resource for both Church and Community With a new entrance facing Derby Road, the building will be transformed by inserting a first floor into the existing roof space, doubling the floor area with very little change to the roofline. A renovated and convivial place will be created for all our current Church gatherings – Thursday Coffee, Hearing Champions, Families@ 4, Choirs and Sunday mornings as well as providing a home for Crossways Counselling, Citizens Advice and many more groups who support local needs.

Should you wish to donate funds to the above causes you can do so via your bank (BACS), our details are as follows:

SORT CODE 30-93-94



If you would like the Mayor to attend an event please contact the Mayor’s Secretary on 01428 654305 or, once confirmed you will be asked to complete and Engagement Form.


Please also read our Mayor’s Protocol guidance which provides information and guidance on the correct protocol to follow when the Mayor attends your event. This will help to ensure that the occasion runs as smoothly as possible and you get the most out of your time with the Mayor.


The Deputy Mayor

The Deputy Mayor for 2023/2024 is Councillor Jean Arrick


Mayoral Roll of Honour

Below is a list of all Mayors from 2000 to the present day.

2024/25                    Mr Jerome Davidson

2022/23                    Mrs Jacqui Keen MBE

2021/22                    Mr Simon Dear

2019/21                    Mr John Robini

2018/19                    Mr David Round

2017/18​                    ​Mr Malcolm Carter

2016/17                    ​​Mr Sahran Abeysundara

2015/16                    ​​Mrs Melanie Odell MBE

2014/15                    Mrs Penny Bradley

2013/14                    Mrs Libby Piper

2012/13                    Mrs Cyndy Lancaster

2011/12                     Mr Jim Edwards

2010/11                     Mrs Melanie Odell

2009/10                   Mrs Melanie Odell

2008/09                  ​​Mr William King

2007/08                  Mr Stephen Mulliner

2006/07                  Mr Brian Howard

2005/06                  Mr Michael Dover

2004/05                  Mrs Jean Arrick

2003/04                  Mr Michael Foster

2002/03                  Mr Stephen Mulliner

2001/02                   Mr Michael Barnes

2000/01                   Mrs Fay Foster